Ice Cream Sandwich Anyone? Update: With Hands On Video!!!

If you’ve been holding out on installing that gorgeous looking (but not so beautifully running) Ice Cream Sandwich build until you can use that unlimited 3G you pay so dearly for (like myself), this latest version courtesy of the king himself might just change your mind. Yes, all radios are now working, including 3G, phone in/out, SMS in/out, and MMS in/out. Wifi was a little bit iffy (read: didn’t actually connect) in my testing, but the 3G works great including Market installs. This is a great improvement from V1 that was a crazy fast test build more or less. With working 3G, even without a camera, video playback, USB mass storage or working signal strength, the ability to use data everywhere as well as text and make calls means this is my new daily driver. Stability is remarkably good. I’ve only have Google+ force close in the background a couple times and that’s it so far. Granted, I’ve only had it a couple hours, but I’m very excited because it can only get better from here. And believe me, its pretty great already. Give it a flash yourself, but remember to repartition to a BML based ROM first as this one has differently sized MTD partitions. Also, the only way to get to recovery is via 3-finger and SuperUser has to have the binary flashed manually but it can be done via Rom Manager from the Market. Also, the new Google Music app and Music-enabled Market work great. Music syncs right up and lets me download the free song of the day. This was kind of a big deal for me, so I thought I’d include that. I’m gonna try and get a video uploaded of a quick hands on. I also posted a ~2100 in Quadrant with Voltage Control (which works!) set at 1300 noop and on demand. I didn’t have force GPU acceleration enabled and it hung for like 3 minutes on “Database read/write:        2/4” but finished. All the 3D modelling tests ran horribly, 15fps average. JT has already given so much for our phone, I’m unbelievably grateful to him. Can’t wait to get even more functionality! Stay posted over at the source link!

Source: RootzWiki

You stay classy, World Wide Web.

~~~~~~~~~ UPDATE!!!!!! ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

I just got done with this (atrocious) hands on video for those of you who’d like to see how it runs without having to completely repartition your phone. Enjoy!

Android 4.0.1 ICS V2 Alpha Build on Samsung Fascinate

Leave a Reply

